Mushroom Chicken (hidden veggies for picky toddlers!)

IMG_0975

Since becoming a mom of two, I almost never feel like cooking. And I certainly never feel like planning out meals. Who am I kidding…that sentiment was felt long before kids!

It is always this endless dilemma of deciding what we will have for dinner. Why must I always be the one to have to decide this? My husband will ask: “so, what are we going to make for dinner,” as if the ‘we’ means that he will have some hand in what dinner will be and how it will be made.

I would actually love for someone else to write my meal plan for the week and have all the products on hand. And then I would have no problem cooking it! No thinking involved. But since that isn’t the case, I’ve accumulated quite a few quick-ish recipes that are pretty nutritious (I think) and pretty dang good (and don’t require amazing culinary skills).

Here is one of my go-to recipes:

Fry up some of your favourite veggies. Start with cooking up a little onion and garlic in olive oil. Add your chopped up veggies of choice. I added zucchini, mushrooms, and red pepper.

IMG_0964

After everything is cooked, add a can of mushroom soup and bouillon cube. Stir till combined and simmer for 5 minutes (adding water if needed for desired consistency). Then add one of the tastiest ingredients: cheese. Cheese makes everything good. I could definitely be a vegetarian, but I could never give up dairy. I would have no idea what to cook without dairy.

After you add some of your favourite spices, throw the mixture on some rice/quinoa or noodles with chicken and you are good to go! I also add some fresh cherry tomatoes since it goes surprisingly well with creamy mixtures.

Recipe:

2 tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves
Half an onion
Bunch of mushrooms
1 zucchini
1 red pepper
1 chicken
1 bouillon cube
1 can mushroom soup
1/4 cup of milk (I used 2%)
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
Couple shreds of cheddar or havarti cheese
Couple cherry tomatoes (halved)
2 chicken breast 

Add mixture to:
Wild rice
Quinoa
Pasta

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and onions, stir for a few minutes until slightly softened.
2. Add veggies. Cook 5 minutes or until veggies cooked through (cooking time will vary depending on size of veggies).
3. Add can of mushroom soup and bouillon cube. Stir until combined and add water as needed for desired consistency. Simmer for  5 minutes.
4. Add milk, parmesan and chedder or havarti cheese (or any cheese you have on hand for extra flavour). Stir until combined.
5. Serve immediately on rice, quinoa or noodles. Add chicken and cherry tomatoes on top.

Weaning Wednesdays Linky
Cuddle FairyTasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
11 thoughts on “Mushroom Chicken (hidden veggies for picky toddlers!)

  1. Thanks!! Your Tell ’em Tuesdays sounds like a great idea! And a great way to ‘meet’ other bloggers too. I will definitely participate when I get a minute to share a post …but might not be till next week…assuming it runs every week? 🙂

    Like

  2. Ooh hidden veggies, great idea. My Mum used to make something similar to this. I don’t like mushrooms so it was a good way of getting me to eat them. Thanks so much for linking up to #weaningwednesdays I hope to see you again this week x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hide veggies all the time 🙂 and i love mushroom.
    will surely try out this recipe for my little one and me 🙂
    and the “so, what are we going to make for dinner” Hahahha, everday story here 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh…do you live in my house!? What are “WE” having for dinner….just reading that sent chills down my spine. I made a rule that I don’t cook on the weekends (although I will still help) because I think asking to have 2 days off out of 7 is a fair enough deal!

    Hiding veggies is my fave – for both the toddler and the hubs!

    #TastyTuesday

    .:Marta:.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like that rule!! I attempt to set something like that in place but then I still get the…what are “we” having. I don’t think it quite resonates that I mean you have to make all the decisions!! Haha gotta love em’ for trying. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

