DIY: Antique Sewing Box Redo

Main

This sewing box is probably over 30 years old (and I completely forgot to get a ‘before’ picture – major oops!). It was my Grandma’s originally, and she passed it on to my mom, who then passed it on to me when I started up sewing. It actually has “Poland” stamped on the bottom which I thought was pretty neat.

I always felt it was kind of ugly. So, when the legs finally broke off a couple months ago my first thought was to throw it in the dump. Good thing I listened to my second, more brilliant, thought, which was to paint it! (My motto: when in doubt, just paint it)

To paint this thing was a big pain in the butt. There were so many little areas that soaked up more paint than other areas and needed extra coats. And the tiny little wood ‘hinges’ were very finicky to paint (picture below).

Originally I wanted the entire piece to be painted white. But, while I was painting it outdoors one day, I accidentally left a couple pieces out overnight…and it just so happened to rain that night! Some of the pieces were damaged from the water and the top of it was ruined (picture below). So, that is where the blueish material-cushion top came into play. Which I actually feel turned out better than the all white.

IMG_1098 IMG_1142 IMG_1147 IMG_1145IMG_1904 IMG_1718

Now that it’s complete, I’m not really sure what to do with it. I could continue using it as a sewing box. But, it kind of feels like it maybe belongs in a kids room filled with little craft pieces. Let me know what you think it should be used for!

IMG_1869 IMG_1870

Home Etc
4 thoughts on “DIY: Antique Sewing Box Redo

Leave a Reply

