Summer Salad with Quinoa

summer salad

I decided to revamp My Everyday Lunch a wee bit with all the new summer fruits available now. It’s good to change it up a little anyways so I don’t get bored of the eats.

This one still involves protein, the sweet & salty factor, and a lot of the fresh factor! And, it’s even easier to prepare since it’s a one bowl meal. (plus I love this yellow summer-ish bowl!)
IMG_1939

At the beginning of the week, I decided to try something different by cooking a big pot of quinoa mixture (80% quinoa + 20% wild rice mixture). While it was cooking, I threw in a chicken bouillon cube for flavour. Then, once cooled, I cut in some fresh red pepper and stored it in the fridge.

This will be the base for my salads all week. And so far, I absolutely love the flavour it provides. The flavour from the bouillon cube really makes the whole dish.

IMG_1940

Check out the recipe
(I don’t really do measurements, I just add more or less based on what I feel like eating that day):

1 c cooked quinoa + rice mixture*
1 chicken or vegetable bouillon cube
1 tbsp of lemon juice to taste
1 tbsp of Nonna Pia’s Balsamic Reduction (Strawberry Fig) dressing to taste
Mixed greens (I used a spinach mixture this time)
As much fruit as you want (I used raspberries, peaches, apples)
Some shredded cheese

Directions:

1. Pre-cook the quinoa and rice at the beginning of the week. While boiling, add the bouillon cube and stir. After cooking, let cool and add the red pepper. Store in tupperware container in the fridge to be used all week.

2. Add lettuce to bowl.
3. Cut in your fruit and shred the cheese.
4. Add freshly squeezed lemon juice + dressing to taste.
5. Add quinoa + rice mixture. Stir and enjoy!

*quinoa + rice mixture is around 80% quinoa with 20% wild rice mixture. I just like the flavour of both mixed together but you could go with only quinoa if you prefer.

Cuddle Fairy

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Peeled Wellness

2 thoughts on “Summer Salad with Quinoa

Leave a Reply

