2 Year Old & 4 Month Old

lifewithtwo

We have had some pretty busy, amazingly funny and cuddly times since #2 was born. And might as well throw ‘tired as hell’ in there too.

For me – well I perpetually smell like baby puke/spit up/old milk. My first was a puker. And I’ve been blessed with a second puker as well. When I put on a freshly washed pair of shorts. Puke finds them. When I make the choice to actually wash my hair (not very often), puke finds those freshly washed strands. I get about 10 minutes of smelling like a normal person. I do hope a bit of that fresh baby smell rubs off on me though.

Come to think of it, husband came home the other day and gave me a hug and said that I smell like a mixture of that beautiful baby smell mixed with stale puke. Not sure if that quite says romance.

For the 2 1/2 year old little N:

  • Toddlers just get funnier and funnier with age. Her favourite thing this week is the garbage truck. She claims the garbage truck is her favourite toy and wants to go find the truck so we can wave at the garbage men.

  • I was sick a few weeks ago and was in bed early while Dad and the kids were downstairs. Little N sneaks up to my room (I pretend to be sleeping w/ eyes closed), comes about an inch from my face and says, “mom, can I have a bath with you.”
  • She finally got in a bouncy castle at the tot gym without being scared out of her mind.
  • She frequently wants to play with the baby toys. She will get into the exersaucer even though it’s way too small for her.
  • She had a full out tantrum because there were bubbles in the bubble bath. After specifically requesting bubbles. She wanted to wash them off her skin whenever they touched her. Preeeeetty hilarious.

For the 4 1/2 month old baby M:

  • She wants to roll all the time. Lay her on her back for a diaper change and she’s rolled over before I can get a wipe out. In that cute way where her oversized head needs to swing way back to get enough leverage to turn over. Insanely adorable.
  • She sleeps till 5am-ish in her crib and then comes into bed with me for a feed and back to sleep till 7:30-ish. I have to admit, I’ve never really been a fan of co-sleeping except when they are really little and getting used to the world. Both my babies were in their own crib, in their own room by two months at the latest. I just can’t sleep when I can hear them moving around and grunting and groaning. So, when she started sleeping till 5am, I was ecstatic, but it was hard to put her back to sleep for those last few hours. The easiest thing was to bring her into my bed. That’s now becoming the norm. And while I love love love sleeping beside her for that last hour or two of the night, I also think that I may never get those last few hours of sleep! But it sure is amazing cuddling and watching her sleep so peacefully. And, if she wakes up before me, I roll over and literally wake up to her big gummy smile. It’s pure unfiltered happiness that puts me in such a good mood.

That’s the latest on life with two!

What Katy Said Modern Dad Pages
5 thoughts on “2 Year Old & 4 Month Old

  1. This post made me smile so much – you have such a way with words. Although maybe not quite as much as your husband does “new baby smell and stale puke” – charming!! (If accurate.)

    I hope to have children with roughly the same age gap as yours so this is really interesting to read. Like a little glimpse into the future.

    Thanks for joining our #HappyDaysLinky – hope to see you join us again at the weekend.

    Jenna xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And yes, that is what happened with hubby. Haha!! I can’t even bother trying to change my clothes every time baby puke gets on there. It dries before I remember to change anyways haha!! Lovely 🙂

      I think it’s a good age gap. It definitely keeps getting easier and easier as oldest becomes more independent. Every month is so different when they are that age 🙂

      Thanks for hosting such a fun link up! #HappyDaysLinky

      Like

  2. Aw what a lovely update! I used to do the same with Emma when she was little. She’d wake up around 5 and I’d feed her and let her stay in bed with me. I loved waking up to her giggles as she tried to kick me. And toddlers really are hilarious! Great post! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

