Christmas Crafts for Toddler in September

xmas

Before you judge me, I must tell you that I strongly suggested to Little N that we partake in some Halloween crafts and she unexpectedly suggested we go with Christmas crafts instead. Even though I feel September is a little early for even Halloween, I had seen a few Halloween crafts on twitter (@midwifeandlife & @gloryiscalling), and thought, you know what, I can do this!

Regardless, N insisted on Christmas crafts. I couldn’t really complain, I love Christmas. I also didn’t have orange paint or any other Halloweenie craft supplies on hand. But that’s neither here nor there.

We set out to paint something Christmasy. I grabbed some of these paper stencils that I’ve been saving since my scrap-booking years. My scrap-booking phase ended about 16 years ago. I don’t know why I saved them all this time. Sometimes when stationary/art supplies look pretty I can barely bring myself to use them and I end up carrying them with me for years. It felt good to use them and finally get them out of the house.

IMG_3100 IMG_3096

After Baby M went to sleep for her morning nap, Little N and I sat down to have some quiet-crafty-time on her new-ish kids table!

IMG_3103 IMG_3104

I glued down the edges of the paper shapes so that we could paint overtop and create a silhouette (with kids glue so it wouldn’t get too sticky). Turns out, Little N didn’t quite accept the whole silhouette idea and wanted to colour on the stencil instead. Which was fine since I could focus on painting the rest of the picture. Then we peeled off the paper stencils.

IMG_3107 IMG_3109 IMG_3116 IMG_3119

I painted some glue on the silhouettes and sprinkled red glitter on it. Which was really exciting for Little N!

IMG_3126 IMG_3131

Done! Our first xmas activity of 2015!

More to come. You may see these on Etsy soon…..kidding..kidding..

One thought on “Christmas Crafts for Toddler in September

Leave a Reply

